Malaysia Entrepreneurs’ Development Association (Persatuan Usahawan Maju Malaysia – PUMM) is a multi-racial non-profit making organization. With the support by our former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohammad, PUMM was established in 1993 by a group of young entrepreneurs lead by Tan Sri Lee Kim Yew, the CEO of Country Heights Bhd.

The main objective of forming PUMM is to create a valuable platform for entrepreneurs especially those business owners from SMIs and SMEs, to share knowledge, experience, wisdom, and to create new business opportunities through seminars, forums, workshops, business visits, business study trips etc.

Since its forming, PUMM had worked very closely with the government agency to promote the business and economic development in the country especially among the young entrepreneurs. PUMM had managed to helped many young entrepreneurs to realize their vision and played an important role in contributing towards nation economic development. In recognition for PUMM’s effort and contribution, in year 1999, the then Prime Minister Dato’ Seri Dr. Mahathir Mohamad had directed PUMM to assist in the country’s entrepreneurship in the “Majlis Perundingan Ekonomi Negara Kedua (MAPEN 2)”.

PUMM seek to reap the benefit of the information age by encouraging education facilities to be set up to cater for its manpower needs, and taking affirmative step forward towards making reality platform for Entrepreneurship. In addition it also encourages young Malaysian to instill stronger charisma spirit  in facing the challenges of globalization ahead.

In the present day, under the leadership of Mr. Tan Lay Seong and the Central Committee, which comprises of young, dynamic and passionate individuals, have developed an ecosystem that inspires and grows Malaysia aspiring entrepreneurs and the community.

PUMM Past Presidents

Tan Sri Lee Kim Yew

Founder & 1st President
(Year 1993 – Year 1998)

Dr. Thor Hong Tong

2nd President
(Year 1998 – Year 2004)

Mr. Tatsun Hoi Tack Seng

3rd President
(Year 2004 – Year 2006)

Dato Aric Ng Wai Sing

4th President
(Year 2006 – Year 2012)

Dato Sri How Kok Choong

5th President
(Year 2012 – Year 2014)

Dato Tony Looi Chee Hong

6th President
(Year 2014 – Year 2018)

Dato See Kok Seng

7th President
(Year 2018 – Year 2019)

The Establishment of PUMM State Liaisons

Cool Timeline


Perak State Liaison

Founder: Jeff Lai
Current Chairman : Lucas Chong


Penang State Liaison

Founder : Joseph Hon
Current Chairman : Alec Ooi


Johor State Liaison

Founder: Victor Lee
Current Chairman : Keane Lee


Pahang State Liaison

Founder : Dato Sri Ng Chuan Hoo
Current Chairman : Alson Lim


Sabah State Liaison

Founder : Andrew Thu
Current Chairman : Dato George Lim


Selangor State Liaison

Founder : Desmond Chee
Current Chairman : Jeff Ho


Negeri Sembilan State Liaison

Founder : Dato Sri James Wong
Current Chairman : Timothy Teo


Melaka State Liaison

Founder : Danni Piong
Current Chairman : Danni Piong